Persebaya Persebaya Persebaya
Persebaya (abbreviation for Perserikatan Sepakbola Surabaya, literally translated to Football Association of Surabaya), is an Indonesian professional football team based in Surabaya, East Java. It plays in Liga 1.

The club was founded on June 18, 1927 under the name of the Soerabhaisasche Indonesische Voetbal Bond (SIVB). Paijo and M. Pamoedji, the founders of SIVB, intend to make this bond to house indigenous players.

Previously, in 1910, stood Sorabaiasche Voetbal Bond (SVB). But, this bond was established to be a representation of the Dutch community living in Surabaya. This club also had closeness with the Dutch East Indies government.

Both of them clearly have different policies. SIVB, which consists of indigenous people, was actively involved in the Indonesian independence movement.

Together with VIJ Jakarta (now Persija), BIVB Bandung (Persib), MIVB Magelang (PPSM), MVB Madiun (PSM), VVB Solo (Persis), and PSIM Yogyakarta, seven clubs initiated the formation of the Indonesian Football Association (PSSI, said new football was used starting in the 1950 congress in Solo) on April 19, 1930 in Yogyakarta.

PSSI then held a member club competition since 1931. But, then the vacuum began in 1943 after the Japanese occupation in Indonesia limited the movement of the organization. In 1943 SIVB also changed its name to Persibaya.

Whereas SVB competes in the competition held by the Nederlandsch Indische Voetbal Bond (NIVB). NIVB was later renamed the Netherlands Indische Voetball Unie) because the colonial government thought NIVB was no longer able to match the PSSI.

Live Stream Now :

Click here to Live Stream

Share :